7 Deaths of Maria Callas || Marina Abramović

This is a full photographic record of Marina Abramović’s performance piece, in which she re-enacts seven death scenes as performed by the late opera diva.   “Like so many of the characters she created on stage, she died for love”, Marina says in her short introduction, adding, “Most operas end with the woman dying and, more often than not, it is because of love”.

Marina is a performance artist and these are pieces without words, so this record is as close as you can get to the action without actually being there.   The reproduction quality is superb and it has to be concluded that the book was planned all along; these are not happily available images cobbled together as an afterthought.    The unbilled eighth death, Callas’s own, is performed with Willem Dafoe and has a voiceover script, which is reproduced in full.

There’s not a lot more to be said, expect that this is beautifully conceived and produced.   It’s a must for any fan of Marina Abramović and, I suspect, Callas as well.

Click the picture to view on Amazon

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Archives

  • Categories

%d bloggers like this: